Running for Purple

In the past three weeks I have seen a complete change in my attitude towards running. I never thought I would say this but running can be addictive! I actually enjoy my morning routine of getting up at 6, driving to the gym, doing my thing and heading into work. I realize that soon I won’t be able to get in the mileage I need to before work but for now I am happy to build my core strength in the beginning training stages.

Part of the reason my attitude has changed is the immediate results I have seen in my body. Am I losing weight? Nope! I am getting firmer though!! Even Mr. Stilettos has made a few comments!! That feels so good!

Another factor in my attitude has been my purpose for running. Not only will I be running for myself in May but I will also be running for a friend. We will call her Mrs. Purple. We met in 2005 and worked together for a few years before I headed to another company. We became close and I was with her as she walked down the isle and celebrated the joy of having her first baby with her husband. What seemed like a picture perfect story soon turned into a nightmare. Mrs. Purple discovered she had lymphoma just days after delivering her daughter. Today, she only has three more chemo treatments left and I am so proud of her! What was once a tumor the size of a large starbucks coffee in her chest is now 70% smaller! She is such a trooper!

The Lymphoma society is what I will be running for in May. I figure – why run for nothing when you can run for a great cause. Let me tell you – since I decided to run for Amy and so many others with Lymphoma – I run a little faster! Today I discovered that Magnolia Belle is making t-shirts to raise money for the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life. What a great idea!! I have already ordered one so that I can sport the shirt while I train for my run in May. Thanks Magnolia Belle! Why don’t you go over and check out her t-shirts?

3 Responses to “Running for Purple”


  1. 1 nap warden November 11, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Look at you go! Running really does make you firmer…that’s why I do it;)

  2. 2 Sarah November 11, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    First of all I am the farthest thing from a runner, I prefer to bike I could ride 50 miles and not get tired but when it comes to running I just don’t think it’s in me, but I have decided to do it firm up. I have a great running coach and let me just tell you I went for my first run yesterday and I though I was going to die, although I feel it in every muscle in my body today this is gonna be great!

  3. 3 morgan November 12, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Don’t be discouraged if you don’t loose weight right away. Like you said–you are firming up, and muscle weighs more, ya know? So, don’t let the scale dictate how you feel.

    More importantly, running for Mrs. Purple will provide the extra motivation you need when you don’t wanna push anymore.


Leave a Reply

