Leaving my Childhood

So now for the answer to yesterday’s mystery picture…

Last weekend I managed to clean out our guest bedroom closet and do some rearranging. One of the things that I decided to part from was the box below. You see in the ninth grade I starting dating an upper classman (despite my parents dissaproval) and for Christmas he walked into my house with a big Victoria Secret bag. My parents almost died. Lucky for him, he had only give me a perfume set that was in the white box. To this day I sware the only reason he gave me that perfume was to get a reaction out of my parents when they saw him with that big pink bag…

Anyways, that boyfriend came and went along with a few others but I always kept the flowers that each one gave me and put them in the white Victoria Secret box. As I went through the dried up flowers this past weekend most of them were corsages from school dances and proms but there were a few roses in there too.

I had always told myself that once I was married I would part with that box of flowers…and this past weekend I did. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. The idea of throwing away a piece of my childhood seemed so sad but when it came down to phsyically doing it – it wasn’t that bad. I am in a new chapter of my life now and I couldn’t be happier.

I still have a big box of love letters, stuffed animals, cards and pictures of my high school boyfriends at my parents house. Those items are not as likely to attract bugs as my flowers! I think I’ll leave them in their box for a while and hopefully on a rainy day go through them with my sister and have a few good laughs.

1 Response to “Leaving my Childhood”


  1. 1 morgan November 13, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    I wish I had kept mine…after each breakup I threw out each “boyfriend box.” especially the painful breakups…those boxes got torched in the fireplace.


Leave a Reply

